first_imgThe Annual Boxing Day run took place in Cranford Park on 26th December for the Bill Hunter and Winifred Gallagher Memorial Races. It was a great way to run off the Christmas Dinner.Starting off were the handicapped juveniles races where Michael Moore had a great run winning the underage race followed home by Diarmuid Gallagher, Karen Neely and Ryan McMenamin. The next race was run over two laps of the 1200m course where 18 competitors took to the start, it definitely blew the cobwebs off these young talented athletes, where Caolan McFadden took up the lead with a lap to go and there was no catching him.Oisin Kelly had a great race coming from behind to come home in second place and Aidan McFadden in third with a fine performance and back to his good form, followed closely by Eoin Logue, Caolan Curran, Molly Trearty, Oran McMenamin, Liam Donnelly. Cian McMenamin, Oisin McNulty, Caitlin O’Hara, Teresa Mullen, Barry Donnelly, Nazara McFadden, Blathnaid Gallagher, Sophie Curran, Orla Neely and Rionach Giles.Next up was the Bill Hunter and Winifred Gallagher Memorial races. There were 36 people starting this tough Cross Country course which was soft under foot right and from the gun it was a two man race with Adam Friel and John McFadden setting the pace and with a lap to go Adam went into another gear and went for home taking the Bill Hunter Memoral Cup with John McFadden coming home in second place and Eoin Kelly with a great race came home in third place.The ladies race was won by Bridie Trearty who had a great performance followed home by Claire Harkin and Paula Hegarty. Well done to everyone who took part. Thanks to everyone who helped out on the day.Next up for Cranford Athletes is Athlone on the 30th of Dec for the North West Indoor Games – Athlone IT . Results Adam Friel               Letterkenny AC       18.17John McFadden                                     18.353.Eoin Kelly.                  Cranford AC.            19.12Liam Doherty           Letterkenny AC     19.29Kevin Logue             Cranford AC           20.03Michael Logue         Rosses. AC              20.14Gerard Marley.         Milford AC               20.53Paddy Fox                 Cranford AC.           20.55Diney Doherty                 U/A.                   21.09PJ Boyce.                 Cranford AC.         21.11Michael McHugh     Milford AC           21.29Bridie Trearty.           Cranford               21.43Peter Lilburn.             City of Derry         21.43Anthony Sweeney         U/A.                   21.54Seamus McHugh.           U/A.                 22.06Christopher Murray.     Cranford AC.     22.45Claire Harkin                   City of Derry.     23.18Paul Carr.                         U/A.                   23.29Shaun McBride             U/A.                   23.46Jimmy McBride.     Letterkenny AC.       23.43Richard Raymond.     Letterkenny AC.       24.15Martin Mc Bride             U/A.                     24.30Cathal Roarty.           Letterkenny AC.        24.31Seamus Carr.                     U/A.                     25.00Paul Gallagher.                   U/A.                   25.13Paula Hegarty.               Milford AC.             25.20Joe Gallagher.                   U/A.                     25.50John Ward.                     Milford AC.             26.0Salim Tem Tem                     U/A.                      26.18James Moore                 Cranford AC.         26.49Shaun Mc Bride               U/A.                       27.01Patrick Mc Bride.             U/A.                       27.01Frank McGettigan         Milford AC.             27.27Paul Gallagher.                   U/A.                     28.09Paul McHugh.                     U/A.                   29.38 Adam Friel wins Bill Hunter Memorial Cup at Cranford AC was last modified: December 28th, 2016 by Chris McNultyShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)last_img