first_img For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps. New Delhi: Indian national cricket team captain Virat Kohli will soon join the league of cricketing legends like Virender Sehwag, Bishan Singh Bedi and MAK Pataudi to have a stand in Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla stadium named after him. The Delhi & District Cricket Association on Sunday announced that it will name one of the stands in Kotla as ‘Virat Kohli Stand’ in honour of his achievements.”DDCA president Rajat Sharma and Apex Council decide to name one Stand of Ferozshah Kotla stadium as ‘Virat Kohli Stand’ in honour of his achievements. Virat Kohli joins Virender Sehwag, Bishan Singh Bedi, Anjum Chopra, Mohinder Amarnath and MAK Pataudi in elite list at the Kotla,” the Delhi cricket board said.The Indian skipper will be the youngest players, who is currently active, to have a stand being named after him. Before Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni had a stand named afetr them at Mumbai’s Wankhede stadium and JSCA Stadium in Ranchi, respectively. “Virat Kohli’s outstanding contribution to world cricket has done DDCA proud. We are happy to honour him for achieving certain milestones and unbeatable captaincy record,” DDCA President Rajat Sharma said in a statement.The announcement from the DDCA came on the occasion of the 11th anniversary of Kohli’s international debut. Kohli had made his ODI debut against Sri Lanka on August 18, 2008.”To cherish these memories, DDCA wanted to dedicate a stand in his name. I am sure the ‘Virat Kohli Stand’ will be a source of inspiration for Delhi’s young cricketers,” the DDCA said in an official statement.Former cricketers Bishan Singh Bedi and Mohinder Amarnath already have a stand after their name in the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium, however, the honour was given to them afetr their retirement. last_img